• English
  • Italiano
Anderson, J., Rainie, L. (2010). The future of social relations. Pew Internet & American Life Research Center

The social benefits of internet use will far outweigh the negatives over the next decade, according to experts who responded to a survey about the future of the internet. They say this is because email, social networks, and other online tools offer ‘low-friction’ opportunities to create, enhance, and rediscover social ties that make a difference in people’s lives. The internet lowers traditional communications constraints of cost, geography, and time; and it supports the type of open information sharing that brings people together.

About the Survey

The survey results are based on a non-random online sample of 895 internet experts and other internet users, recruited via email invitation, Twitter or Facebook from the Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project and the Imagining the Internet Center at Elon University. Since the data are based on a non-random sample, a margin of error cannot be computed, and the results are not projectable to any population other than the experts in this sample.



Authors

Rainie, Lee

Lee Rainie is the Director of the Pew Internet & American Life Project, a non-profit, non–partisan "fact tank" that studies the social impact of the internet. The Project has issued more than 250 reports based on its surveys that examine people's online activities...

Attached content

Upcoming events

2014, April

Spring Meeting of Young Economists (SMYE) 2014

Thu, 2014-04-24 - Sat, 2014-04-26

2014, May

The Welfare State in Portugal in the Age of Austerity

Fri, 2014-05-09 - Sat, 2014-05-10

2014, May

Reforming Public Service Delivery, Doctoral Conference

Thu, 2014-05-15 - Fri, 2014-05-16

2014, May

Ethics in Economic Life

Mon, 2014-05-19 - Tue, 2014-05-20

2014, May

Trust. MatchPoints Seminar 2014

Thu, 2014-05-22 - Sat, 2014-05-24

2014, May

Workshop on Gender Economics

Thu, 2014-05-22 - Fri, 2014-05-23

2014, May

The Organisation, Economics and Policy of Scientific Research

Thu, 2014-05-22 - Fri, 2014-05-23

2014, May

Social Networks, Social Media and the Economics of Food

Thu, 2014-05-29 - Fri, 2014-05-30

2014, June

11th Workshop on Social Economy for Young Economists

Fri, 2014-06-13 - Sat, 2014-06-14

2014, June

63rd Annual Meeting of the French Economic Association

Mon, 2014-06-16 - Wed, 2014-06-18