• English
  • Italiano
Ostrom, Elinor

Elinor Ostrom (née Awan, born August 7, 1933) is an American political economist. She was awarded the 2009 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, which she shared with Oliver E. Williamson, for "her analysis of economic governance, especially the commons." She is the first woman to win the prize in this category. Her work is associated with the new institutional economics and the resurgence of political economy.

Ostrom lives in Bloomington, IN, and is on the faculty of both Indiana University and Arizona State University. She holds a Distinguished Professor at Indiana University and is the Arthur F. Bentley Professor of Political Science and Co-Director of the Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis at Indiana University in Bloomington, as well as Research Professor and the Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Institutional Diversity at Arizona State University in Tempe. Ostrom also serves as a lead researcher for the Sustainable Agriculture and Natural Resource Management Collaborative Research Support Program (SANREM CRSP), managed by Virginia Tech and funded by USAID.


Indiana University, Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis

The betterment of humankind depends on the ability of fallible human beings to make decisions, manage resources, and govern themselves.  This is the basis of democracy, and of civilization itself.  It is also the basis for more than 30 years of research and inquiry at the Workshop in...


Ahn, Toh-Kyeong

Appointment September 2010 – Associate Professor, Department of Political Science and...

Upcoming events

No events in the list.