• English
  • Italiano
Beyond Deindustrialisation: The Future of Industries

The 25th Annual EAEPE Conference 2013 will be held at Université Paris Nord (University of Paris 13, Campus Bobigny), Paris, France, from 7 to 9 November 2013. The abstract submission deadline is May 15, 2013. The conference theme will focus on the state and future of industries in Europe, with a special emphasis on policy.

For decades, deindustrialisation has been a major concern in many OECD countries. The global economic crisis has certainly made the situation even more critical. At the same time, there is a revival of industrial policy debates in a context where waves of technical progress are expected to promote the emergence of new industries, boosting employment and preserving the environment. Governments, when they do not see debt-reduction and austerity as the only way to emerge from the current crisis, are trying to design, in more or less cooperative ways,  policies to gain competitive advantages in the evolving international division of labour.

The 25th Annual EAEPE Conference 2013 will be a platform for the exchange of ideas and results from both theoretical and empirical research on institutional change and policy design at all levels of implementation. It will echo and feed all the current debates on possible ways of promoting a new future for industries. 

Keynote speakers (to be announced) will address the theme of the conference and EU policy experts will discuss the main challenges ahead in plenary sessions at the beginning and the end of the conference.

In addition, special sessions on the future of institutional and evolutionary economics will be organised. Panellists will include: Geoffrey Hodgson (University of Hertfordshire, UK), Richard Langlois (University of Connecticut, USA), Claude Ménard (Université Paris Panthéon-Sorbonne, France), Mary Shirley (Ronald Coase Institute, USA), Sidney Winter (University of Pennsylvania, USA) and Ulrich Witt (Max Planck Institute of Economics, Germany).


All scholars are invited to give a paper on the conference theme, but contributions on usual topics covered by the EAEPE Research Areas are welcome. Submissions should specify whether the contribution is on the conference theme or one of the Research Areas.

Abstracts are to be submitted electronically at the conference website.

Abstracts (300-750 words) should include the name(s), email(s) and (if possible) affiliation(s) of the author(s), along with the closest name and code of the relevant Research Areas.

Proposals for special sessions (4 abstracts) are welcome. 

Special PhD sessions will also be organized. PhD students will not have to pay the conference fee.

Important dates

Abstract submission deadline: 15th May 2013

Notification of acceptance: 17th June 2013

Full paper submission deadline: 17th September 2013

Scientific committee: Philippe Abecassis (Université Paris Nord, France), Nathalie Coutinet (Université Paris Nord, France), Wolfram Elsner (University of Bremen, Germany), David Gindis (University of Hertfordshire, UK), Oliver Kessler (University of Erfurt, Germany), Dany Lang (Université Paris Nord, France), Catherine Laurent (INRA, France), Sébastien Lechevalier (EHESS, France), Pascal Petit (Université Paris Nord, France), Bernhard Rengs (Vienna University of Technology, Austria), Pasquale Tridico (University of Rome Tre, Italy), Caroline Vincensini (ENS Cachan, France). 


For any information or queries about the conference, please contact Nathalie Coutinet ([email protected]) or Philippe Abecassis ([email protected]).

Local organising committee: Nathalie Coutinet, Philippe Abecassis, Clotilde Champeyrache, Bernard Chavance, Cédric Durand, David Flacher, Pierre Labarthe, Agnès Labrousse, Dany Lang, Catherine Laurent, Sébastien Lechavlier, Jonathan Marie, Pascal Petit, Claude Serfati, Anne Sindzingre, Mehrdad Vahabi, Caroline Vincensini.


European Association for Evolutionary Political Economy (EAPE)

EAEPE originates from a meeting at a conference in Grim's Dyke, London, on 29 June 1988. The main purpose in forming the association was to promote evolutionary, dynamic and realistic approaches to economic theory and policy. Instead of the over-formalistic and often empty theorising of...

Upcoming events

No events in the list.